Department of Microbiology and Parasitology

About us

The Department of Microbiology and Parasitology was established in 1958 and it is responsible for the instruction in fundamental and clinical microbiology to graduate and undergraduate, as well as postgraduate students.
Currently, the Department has 14 members, including 8 academic staff dedicated to providing quality education, through both teaching and research, what is necessary to meet the needs of growing field in microbiology.

The research group at the Department of Microbiology has a long-standing interest in the study of bacterial pathogenesis. In the new project period started in 2007, Prof. Miljenko Dorić is the coordinator of research program composed of 6 research projects. A significant feature of our research programs is the diversity of microorganisms that are studied. Within the frame of the research program, pathogens with significant public health impact: Legionella, Listeria, Francisella, Campylobacter and Klebsiella are investigated. Besides studying the properties of pathogens, the resarch groups also analyze the host's susceptibility to infection and the ability of the host immune system to control and eliminate the microorganisms.
The Department of Microbiology and Parasitology provides a challenging environment for students seeking to participate in research..

Faculty and staff

Maja Abram, MD, PhD, Full professor
amaja@medri.hr

Darinka Vučković, MD, PhD, Associate Professor
dara@medri.hr

Brigita Tićac, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor
brigita@medri.hr

Marina Šantić, Ms Sanit Ing., PhD, Assistant Professor
marina@medri.hr

Marina Bubonja, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor
mbubonja@medri.hr

Ivana Gobin, Ms Sanit Ing, PhD, Higher Assistant
Ivana.Gobin@medri.hr

Mirna Mihelčić, VMD, Assistant
mimirna@medri.hr

Mirjana Topić, higher tech.

Dijana Juričić-Momčilović, Bacc.med.lab.diagn.

Gabrijela Radić, Bacc.med.lab.diagn.

Mirjana Oljica, med. lab. tech.

Ivanka Crevar

 

 

 

+ | Impressum | + |Webmaster | + | Text size: A | A | A | A |+